Uploading, Downloading, and Removing Backup Files

You can download backup files you create in Plesk to your computer. The resulting redundancy can give you peace of mind, or you can cut down on the amount of disk space you use by removing in Plesk the backups you have saved locally. You can upload the backup files from your computer to Plesk anytime.

Downloading Backup Files from Plesk

To download a backup file from Plesk, go to Websites & Domains > Backup Manager, click the backup you want to download, and then click Download.

Before downloading the file, Plesk will prompt you to protect the backup with a password. Doing so encrypts the passwords stored in the Plesk database. This way, even if the backup file falls into the hands of a third party, they will not be able to obtain the passwords stored inside, as restoring a password-protecting file without providing the correct password results in all passwords being generated randomly. If you do not want to protect your backup with a password, clear the Use password protection checkbox.

To complete the operation, click OK. The backup file will be downloaded to the "Downloads" directory specified in your browser settings.

Uploading Backup Files to Plesk

To upload a backup file to Plesk, go to Websites & Domains > Backup Manager, and then click Upload. Click Choose File and browse to the location where the backup file you want to upload is stored.

If the backup was protected with a password when it was being downloaded, you should type it in the corresponding field when uploading the backup. If you do not, or if the password you type in is incorrect, the backup will still be uploaded, but attempting to restore it without providing the correct password will reset all passwords contained in the backup, such as mailbox passwords, database user passwords, and so on.

To complete the operation, click OK. The backup file will be uploaded to the Plesk repository.

Removing Backup Files

To remove one or more backup files, go to Websites & Domains > Backup Manager, select the checkboxes corresponding to the backup files you want to remove, and click Remove.

Removing a full backup automatically removes all incremental backups that use it as the parent backup.

Caution: All information stored in the removed backup files is lost permanently. There is no "Undo" button. Make sure that you only remove backups you no longer need.

 

Leave your feedback on this topic here

If you have questions or need support, please visit the Plesk forum or contact your hosting provider.
The comments below are for feedback on the documentation only. No timely answers or help will be provided.