Backing Up Individual Accounts and Sites

To back up a user account with or without sites:

  1. Click Customers.
  2. Locate and click the customer whose account you want to back up.
  3. In the list of customer's domains (the Domains tab) or subscriptions (the Subscriptions tab), click the icon in the very right column and select Manage in Customer Panel to open hosting operations.
  4. Click Account and do one of the following:

    Note: Depending on the customer's permissions, one of these options might be unavailable.

    • To back up a user account with sites, click Back Up My Account and Websites.
    • To back up only websites with content, click Back Up Websites. Alternatively, use Websites & Domains > Backup Manager.
  5. Click Back Up.
  6. Specify the following:
    • What data to back up. You can back up only the settings, or the settings and all data. To learn what is included in backups, refer to the Backing Up and Restoration section.
    • Location where to store the backup file. Select the storage where you would like to store the backup file.
    • Type.
      • To backup all the data, select Full.

        A full backup can include either configuration or configuration and content, depending on what you selected in Back up.

      • To back up only the changes made since the time of the previous backup, select Incremental.

        Incremental backups always include configuration with content, including databases. Database-related content is included in full, while web and mail related content is backed up incrementally.

        If no backups have been created yet, the first backup will be a full backup.

        For the difference between full and incremental backup, see Backing Up and Restoration.

    • Splitting of the backup file. To create a multivolume backup, select the respective checkbox and specify volume size in megabytes. Multiple volumes are supported for backups stored in personal FTP storage.
    • Comments about this backup.
    • Email notification on backup completion. If you want to be notified of the backup completion, click When a backup task is completed, send a notification email to and type your email address.
    • Suspend domains until backup task is completed. Select this option to prohibit users from making changes to content or settings of websites while they are being backed up.
  7. Click Back Up. The backup process starts.

    When backing up is finished, the backup file will be saved to the storage you selected.

 

Leave your comments on this page

Leave your feedback or question on this documentation topic below. For technical assistance, contact your hosting service provider or submit a request to Plesk support. Suggest new features for Plesk here. Discuss general questions on the Plesk forum. All offtopic comments will be removed.