Defining How the Restore Process is Performed
When restoring data, you can also do the following:
- Temporarily suspend websites during restoration.
- Configure the restoration utility to include more details in backup reports.
- Configure the restoration utility to restore files even if they do not have a valid signature.
If you are going to restore websites, we recommend that you suspend them
during the restoration by using the
-suspend option. This will help
you avoid possible errors in the restored sites that may be caused by
changes made to the site configuration or content during the
The suspension is made as short as possible: each site is suspended only for the time it is being restored: The site is started automatically as soon as the data are processed.
pleskrestore works in one of the following verbosity modes:
- Non-verbose mode. Default mode. The minimum level, only general errors are displayed, sauc as, syntax errors (no or wrong command specified, invalid input parameters), runtime errors and unhandled exceptions, and so on.
Verbose mode. Restore runs with verbosity level which additionally
includes deployer errors, information about conflicts (read about
restore conflicts in the section Conflict Resolution Rules and
Policies), and so on. Enabled by adding the
-verboseoption to the
When you attempt to restore a backup file by means of the
pleskrestore utility, Plesk checks the file and does not restore it
if any of the following problems are found:
The file is corrupted.
The file was modified manually after downloading from the server.
The file was created on another server.
The file was created in a Plesk version earlier than 11.5.
Note: Actually, files created in earlier Plesk versions are not a problem. Plesk marks such backups as problematic because they lack backup signatures. A backup signature, introduced in Plesk 11.5, enables Plesk to check backups.
To skip checking and restore a backup regardless of potential problems,
Plesk administrators can also restore backups with problems is through
the Plesk GUI by selecting the corresponding option on the Tools &
Settings > Backup Manager > <backup_name> page. Customers and
resellers are not allowed to restore such backups by default. However,
you can allow all users to restore any backups regardless of potential
problems. To do this, add the following lines to the
/usr/local/psa/admin/conf/panel.ini configuration file:
[pmm] allowRestoreModifiedDumps = on
To return to the default restrictions, remove these lines or change the second line to the following:
allowRestoreModifiedDumps = off