If you serve numerous websites, you may want to configure the backup process so that it does not consume much server resources.

To configure server-wide backup settings:

  1. Go to Tools & Settings > Backup Manager (under «Tools & Resources») > Settings.

  2. (Optional) In the corresponding field, specify the maximum number of full backups files (including both scheduled and manual backups) that can be stored in any type of storage.

    For details, see «Backup Rotation».

  3. In the corresponding field, specify the maximum number of simultaneously running scheduled backup processes. The default value is 10.

  4. To make the backup processes release resources to other server processes, «Run all backup processes with low priority» is selected by default.

    You can choose to run only scheduled backups with low priority by selecting the corresponding checkbox.

    Nota: Both options increase backup time. Other server tasks will not work slower during backing up.

  5. To disable compression, select the «Do not compress backup files» checkbox.

  6. To prevent backing up processes from consuming all available disk space on the server, «Start the backup only if your server has the sufficient amount of free disk space» is selected by default.

    This option significantly increases backup time because Plesk additionally calculates the size of the future backup.

    If you know the approximate size of the future backup and do not want Plesk to waste time and resources on calculating it, clear the «Start the backup only if your server has the sufficient amount of free disk space» checkbox. Instead, in «Start the backup only if your server has the specified amount of free disk space», specify the approximate size of the future backup in megabytes.

    Nota: Plesk para Windows no calcula directamente los tamaños de los objetos, sino que los obtiene de la base de datos. Como los tamaños de los objetos en la base de datos de Plesk sólo se actualizan una vez al fía, el tamaño global calculado para el backup puede diferir de su valor real final.

  7. Select whether to allow setting up FTP backup storage on the local Plesk server.

    Users can configure their FTP storage to be located on the same Plesk server where their subscriptions are hosted. If they do so, the amount of used disk space will double upon creation of each backup. This can cause the server to eventually run out of free disk space. To prevent this, we recommend that you do not select the «Allow setting up FTP backup storage on the local server» checkbox.

  8. Choose whether to save backups in the server storage if the upload to remote storage fails by selecting the corresponding checkbox.

    Nota: Backing up to the Plesk server storage is possible only for users with the «Backup and restoration of subscription data using the server storage» or «Backup and restoration of account data using the server storage» permissions.

  9. Haga clic en ACEPTAR.

Configuración de seguridad de backups

Puede seleccionar el tipo de protección deseado para todos los backups de Plesk almacenados en el repositorio (local) del servidor:

  • Clave de cifrado de Plesk. Por defecto, todos los datos confidenciales presentes en un backup (como por ejemplo las contraseñas de cuentas de Plesk) se cifran con una clave interna. Esta clave es única para cada instalación de Plesk. Si bien cifrar backups con claves de Plesk resulta útil, esta opción tiene ciertas limitaciones. Cuando los usuarios restauran backups creados en otras instalaciones de Plesk, los datos se restauran, si bien se pierden las contraseñas originales del usuario y se generan contraseñas nuevas. En este caso, los usuarios recibirán una notificación por email informándoles sobre el cambio de contraseña. Si tiene previsto restaurar un backup en otra instalación de Plesk y no desea que se cambie la contraseña del usuario, utilice la opción Contraseña especificada.

    Nota: La clave interna de Plesk solo cifra algunos datos en un backup, pero no todo el backup. Si almacena backups en un almacenamiento cloud remoto, puede activar el cifrado de backups a nivel del almacenamiento cloud.

  • Contraseña especificada. Con el fin de proteger determinados datos confidenciales presentes en un backup, puede especificar una contraseña a nivel del servidor. Este tipo de protección es recomendable en la mayoría de los casos. En concreto, puede resultar útil en el caso de disponer de múltiples instalaciones de Plesk o si almacena un backup en una unidad montada y lo utiliza para restaurarlo si se produce algún problema con la unidad con Plesk. Para restaurar todos los datos de Plesk, incluyendo las contraseñas de usuario, es necesario indicar la misma contraseña que la que se especificó para el backup.

La configuración de seguridad descrita anteriormente sólo es válida en el caso de backups almacenados en el repositorio (local) del servidor. Si va a almacenar un backup en un servidor FTP, configure la protección con contraseña en la configuración del almacenamiento FTP. Para más información, consulte Configuración de un almacenamiento remoto.

Nota: Las contraseñas que puedan utilizar los usuarios de las suscripciones a la hora de descargar backups no entran en conflicto con una contraseña a nivel de servidor ni con una clave de cifrado. Para estos backups se utilizan las contraseñas específicas de cada usuario. Para más información al respecto, consulte Carga y descarga de archivos de backup.

Permisos para el almacenamiento de backups en el almacenamiento cloud para clientes y revendedores

Por defecto, una vez ha instalado una extensión de almacenamiento cloud, sus clientes y revendedores también pueden usarla para almacenar sus backups manuales. Para gestionar el almacenamiento cloud que pueden usar sus clientes, compre la prestación Backup to Cloud Pro.

Una vez comprada la prestación, puede permitir o prohibir el uso de los servicios de almacenamiento cloud instalados a sus clientes y revendedores en la pestaña «Permisos» (debajo de «Mostrar más permisos disponibles») cuando:

  • Añada o edite planes de servicio existentes y planes complementarios.
  • Personalice suscripciones.

image cloud permissions

El permiso aparece seleccionado cuando se ha instalado la extensión de almacenamiento cloud correspondiente.

Los cambios en los permisos se aplican una vez finalizada la sincronización.

Nota: El permiso «Copia y restauración de los datos de suscripciones usando un almacenamiento remoto» tiene prioridad sobre los permisos para el almacenamiento de backups en un almacenamiento cloud. Si no se selecciona el permiso, los clientes y revendedores no pueden almacenar backups en el almacenamiento cloud incluso en el caso de que se hayan seleccionado los permisos cloud correspondientes.

Backup Rotation

To save disk space, you can set up a server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups in Tools & Settings > Backup Manager (under «Tools & Resources») > Settings. When the limit is reached, Plesk irrevocably deletes the oldest backup files to free up space for new ones. We call this process backup rotation.

Nota: The limit only affects full backups. The number of incremental backups is not limited.

Nota: The limit affects the Plesk server local storage and any configured remote storage.

image 78606

Backup rotation differentiates between manual and scheduled backups. If you have both manual and scheduled full backups whose number exceeds the limit, backup rotation deletes the oldest full backups in the following way:

  1. Keeps the latest manual backup.
  2. Keeps X-1 number of the latest scheduled backups, where X is the server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups.
  3. Deletes all other full backups.

For example, you have three manual backups and three scheduled backups. You set the server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups to three. After backup rotation, Plesk will keep the following full backups: the latest manual backup and the two latest scheduled ones.

Subscriptions, customers, and resellers have their own limits on the number of stored full backups in «Scheduled Backup Settings». Setting up the server-wide limit changes the corresponding limits for new and existing subscriptions, customers, and resellers to match the server-wide limit value. It will be impossible to set the limits for subscriptions, customers, and resellers higher than the server-wide limit (see the screenshot below).

image 78607

For example, a reseller has «Maximum number of full backup files to store» set to four. After you set the server-wide limit to two, the reseller’s limit will be automatically set to two to match the server-wide limit. The reseller will not be able to change their limit to the value higher than two.