If you serve numerous websites, you may want to configure the backup process so that it does not consume much server resources.

To configure server-wide backup settings:

  1. Go to Tools & Settings > Backup Manager (under «Tools & Resources») > Settings.

  2. (Optional) In the corresponding field, specify the maximum number of full backups files (including both scheduled and manual backups) that can be stored in any type of storage.

    For details, see «Backup Rotation».

  3. In the corresponding field, specify the maximum number of simultaneously running scheduled backup processes. The default value is 10.

  4. To make the backup processes release resources to other server processes, «Run all backup processes with low priority» is selected by default.

    You can choose to run only scheduled backups with low priority by selecting the corresponding checkbox.

    Nota: Both options increase backup time. Other server tasks will not work slower during backing up.

  5. To disable compression, select the «Do not compress backup files» checkbox.

  6. To prevent backing up processes from consuming all available disk space on the server, «Start the backup only if your server has the sufficient amount of free disk space» is selected by default.

    This option significantly increases backup time because Plesk additionally calculates the size of the future backup.

    If you know the approximate size of the future backup and do not want Plesk to waste time and resources on calculating it, clear the «Start the backup only if your server has the sufficient amount of free disk space» checkbox. Instead, in «Start the backup only if your server has the specified amount of free disk space», specify the approximate size of the future backup in megabytes.

    Nota: Plesk per Windows non calcola direttamente le dimensioni degli oggetti, ma le ottiene dal database. Siccome le dimensioni degli oggetti nel database di Plesk vengono aggiornate soltanto una volta al giorno, la dimensione generale di backup calcolata può differire dal suo valore reale.

  7. Select whether to allow setting up FTP backup storage on the local Plesk server.

    Users can configure their FTP storage to be located on the same Plesk server where their subscriptions are hosted. If they do so, the amount of used disk space will double upon creation of each backup. This can cause the server to eventually run out of free disk space. To prevent this, we recommend that you do not select the «Allow setting up FTP backup storage on the local server» checkbox.

  8. Choose whether to save backups in the server storage if the upload to remote storage fails by selecting the corresponding checkbox.

    Nota: Backing up to the Plesk server storage is possible only for users with the «Backup and restoration of subscription data using the server storage» or «Backup and restoration of account data using the server storage» permissions.

  9. Fai clic su OK.

Impostazioni di sicurezza di backup

È possibile selezionare il tipo di protezione per tutti i backup di Plesk memorizzati nell’archivio del server (locale):

  • Plesk’s encryption key. By default, certain sensitive data in a backup (for example, passwords of Plesk accounts) are encrypted with an internal key. The key is unique to each Plesk installation. Encrypting backups with Plesk keys is convenient but has certain limitations. When users restore backups created in other Plesk installations, the data is restored, but the original user passwords are lost, and new passwords are generated instead. In this case, the users will receive password change notifications by email. If you are going to restore a backup on another Plesk installation and want to avoid changing user passwords, use the Specified password option.

    Nota: The Plesk internal key encrypts only certain data in a backup but not the whole backup. If you store backups in remote cloud storage, you can enable backup encryption on the cloud storage side.

  • Specified password. You can specify a server-wide password to protect certain data in a backup. This type of protection is preferable and can be recommended in most cases. In particular, this may be useful in case of multiple Plesk installations, or if you store a backup on a mounted drive and use it for restoration if the drive with Plesk crashes. To restore all Plesk data including user passwords, you have to provide the same password that was specified for the backup.

Le impostazioni di sicurezza descritte sopra sono relative ai backup memorizzati esclusivamente nell’archivio del server (locale). Se si desidera archiviare un backup su un server FTP, configurare la protezione tramite password nelle impostazioni di archiviazione FTP. Per ulteriori informazioni, consulta Configurazione di un archivio remoto.

Nota: Le password che gli utenti di abbonamenti possono specificare quando scaricano backup non entrano in conflitto con la password del server o la chiave di crittografia. Per questo tipo di backup, vengono utilizzate le password specificate dagli utenti. Vedi Caricare e scaricare file di backup.

Permessi per la memorizzazione di backup nell’archivio sul cloud per clienti e rivenditori

Per impostazione predefinita, se viene installata un’estensione di archiviazione nel cloud, anche i clienti e i rivenditori possono utilizzarla per memorizzare i loro backup manuali. Per gestire l’archivio nel cloud che i tuoi clienti e rivenditori sono autorizzati a utilizzare, acquista la funzionalità Backup to Cloud Pro.

Dopo l’acquisto, potrai consentire o vietare ai tuoi clienti e rivenditori l’uso dei servizi di archiviazione nel cloud installati attraverso la scheda «Permessi» (in «Visualizza altri permessi disponibili»), al momento di:

  • Aggiungere nuovi piani di servizio e piani aggiuntivi o modificare quelli esistenti.
  • Personalizzare abbonamenti.

image cloud permissions

Il permesso risulta visibile e viene selezionato quando la rispettiva estensione di archiviazione nel cloud è installata.

Le modifiche ai permessi diventano effettive dopo la sincronizzazione.

Nota: Il permesso «Backup e ripristino di dati dell’abbonamento utilizzando l’archivio remoto» è prioritario rispetto ai permessi di memorizzazione dei backup nell’archivio sul cloud. Se la voce «Backup e ripristino di dati dell’abbonamento utilizzando l’archivio remoto» non è selezionata, i clienti e i rivenditori non possono memorizzare i backup nell’archivio sul cloud anche se i permessi per il cloud corrispondenti sono selezionati.

Backup Rotation

To save disk space, you can set up a server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups in Tools & Settings > Backup Manager (under «Tools & Resources») > Settings. When the limit is reached, Plesk irrevocably deletes the oldest backup files to free up space for new ones. We call this process backup rotation.

Nota: The limit only affects full backups. The number of incremental backups is not limited.

Nota: The limit affects the Plesk server local storage and any configured remote storage.

image 78606

Backup rotation differentiates between manual and scheduled backups. If you have both manual and scheduled full backups whose number exceeds the limit, backup rotation deletes the oldest full backups in the following way:

  1. Keeps the latest manual backup.
  2. Keeps X-1 number of the latest scheduled backups, where X is the server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups.
  3. Deletes all other full backups.

For example, you have three manual backups and three scheduled backups. You set the server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups to three. After backup rotation, Plesk will keep the following full backups: the latest manual backup and the two latest scheduled ones.

Subscriptions, customers, and resellers have their own limits on the number of stored full backups in «Scheduled Backup Settings». Setting up the server-wide limit changes the corresponding limits for new and existing subscriptions, customers, and resellers to match the server-wide limit value. It will be impossible to set the limits for subscriptions, customers, and resellers higher than the server-wide limit (see the screenshot below).

image 78607

For example, a reseller has «Maximum number of full backup files to store» set to four. After you set the server-wide limit to two, the reseller’s limit will be automatically set to two to match the server-wide limit. The reseller will not be able to change their limit to the value higher than two.