If you serve numerous websites, you may want to configure the backup process so that it does not consume much server resources.

To configure server-wide backup settings:

  1. Go to Tools & Settings > Backup Manager (under „Tools & Resources“) > Settings.

  2. (Optional) In the corresponding field, specify the maximum number of full backups files (including both scheduled and manual backups) that can be stored in any type of storage.

    For details, see „Backup Rotation“.

  3. In the corresponding field, specify the maximum number of simultaneously running scheduled backup processes. The default value is 10.

  4. To make the backup processes release resources to other server processes, „Run all backup processes with low priority“ is selected by default.

    You can choose to run only scheduled backups with low priority by selecting the corresponding checkbox.

    Bemerkung: Both options increase backup time. Other server tasks will not work slower during backing up.

  5. To disable compression, select the „Do not compress backup files“ checkbox.

  6. To prevent backing up processes from consuming all available disk space on the server, „Start the backup only if your server has the sufficient amount of free disk space“ is selected by default.

    This option significantly increases backup time because Plesk additionally calculates the size of the future backup.

    If you know the approximate size of the future backup and do not want Plesk to waste time and resources on calculating it, clear the „Start the backup only if your server has the sufficient amount of free disk space“ checkbox. Instead, in „Start the backup only if your server has the specified amount of free disk space“, specify the approximate size of the future backup in megabytes.

    Bemerkung: Plesk für Windows entnimmt die Objektgrößen der Datenbank, anstatt sie direkt zu berechnen. Da die Objektgrößen in der Plesk Datenbank nur einmal täglich aktualisiert werden, kann die berechnete Gesamtgröße des Backups vom tatsächlichen Wert abweichen.

  7. Select whether to allow setting up FTP backup storage on the local Plesk server.

    Users can configure their FTP storage to be located on the same Plesk server where their subscriptions are hosted. If they do so, the amount of used disk space will double upon creation of each backup. This can cause the server to eventually run out of free disk space. To prevent this, we recommend that you do not select the „Allow setting up FTP backup storage on the local server“ checkbox.

  8. Choose whether to save backups in the server storage if the upload to remote storage fails by selecting the corresponding checkbox.

    Bemerkung: Backing up to the Plesk server storage is possible only for users with the „Backup and restoration of subscription data using the server storage“ or „Backup and restoration of account data using the server storage“ permissions.

  9. Klicken Sie auf OK.

Einstellungen zur Backupsicherheit

Sie können die Art des Schutzes für alle Plesk Backups auswählen, die im lokalen Server-Repository gespeichert sind:

  • Plesk Verschlüsselungscode. Standardmäßig werden bestimmte sensible Daten in einem Backup (z. B. Passwörter für Plesk Konten) mit einem internen Schlüssel verschlüsselt. Dieser Schlüssel ist für jede Plesk Installation einmalig. Die Verschlüsselung von Backups mit Schlüsseln von Plesk ist praktisch, hat aber auch einige Einschränkungen. Wenn Benutzer Backups wiederherstellen, die in anderen Plesk Installationen erstellt wurden, werden die Daten zwar wiederhergestellt, doch die ursprünglichen Benutzerpasswörter gehen verloren. Es werden stattdessen neue Passwörter generiert. In diesem Fall erhalten die Benutzer E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen zur Änderung des Passworts. Wenn Sie ein Backup auf einer anderen Plesk Installation wiederherstellen möchten, die Benutzerpasswörter jedoch nicht geändert werden sollen, wählen Sie die Option Angegebenes Passwort aus.

    Bemerkung: Mit dem internen Schlüssel von Plesk werden nur bestimmte Daten in einem Backup verschlüsselt, nicht das gesamte Backup. Wenn Sie Backups in einem Remote-Cloud-Speicher aufbewahren, können Sie dort die Backup-Verschlüsselung aktivieren.

  • Angegebenes Passwort. Sie können zum Schutz von bestimmten Daten in Backups ein serverweites Passwort festlegen. Diese Art von Schutz ist für die meisten Anwendungsfälle empfehlenswert. Dies kann vor allem bei mehreren Plesk Installationen hilfreich sein oder wenn Sie ein Backup auf einem bereitgestellten Laufwerk speichern und dieses im Fall eines Absturzes von Plesk zur Wiederherstellung nutzen. Wenn Sie alle Plesk Daten inklusive Passwörter wiederherstellen möchten, müssen Sie das Passwort angeben, das Sie für das Backup angegeben haben.

Die Sicherheitseinstellungen oben gelten nur für Backups, die in einem lokalen Server-Repository gespeichert sind. Wenn Sie ein Backup auf einem FTP-Server speichern, konfigurieren Sie den Passwortschutz in den Einstellungen des FTP-Speichers. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Konfigurieren von Remote-Speicher.

Bemerkung: Die Passwörter, Abonnement-Benutzer möglicherweise beim Downloaden von Backups angeben, verursachen keinen Konflikt mit dem serverweiten Passwort oder Verschlüsselungscode. Für solche Backups werden vom Benutzer angegebene Passwörter verwendet. Siehe Hochladen und Herunterladen von Backupdateien.

Berechtigungen für das Speichern von Backups im Cloudspeicher für Kunden und Reseller

Nachdem Sie eine Erweiterung für Cloudspeicher installiert haben, können Ihre Kunden und Reseller den Speicher standardmäßig auch für ihre manuellen Backups verwenden. Wenn Sie festlegen möchten, welche Cloudspeicherdienste Ihre Kunden und Reseller verwenden dürfen, erwerben Sie die Funktion Backup to Cloud Pro.

Anschließend können Sie auf dem Tab „Berechtigungen“ (unter „Weitere verfügbare Berechtigungen anzeigen“) in den folgenden Situationen auswählen, ob Kunden und Reseller die installierten Cloudspeicherdienste verwenden dürfen:

  • Beim Hinzufügen oder Bearbeiten von vorhandenen Service-Paketen oder Add-on-Paketen
  • Beim Anpassen von Abonnements

image cloud permissions

Die angezeigten und verfügbaren Berechtigungen hängen von den installierten Erweiterungen für Cloudspeicher ab.

Änderungen an den Berechtigungen werden nach der Synchronisierung angewendet.

Bemerkung: Die Berechtigung „Backup und Wiederherstellung der Abonnement-Daten mithilfe des Remote-Speichers“ hat Vorrang über die Berechtigungen für das Speichern von Backups im Cloudspeicher. Wenn Sie „Backup und Wiederherstellung der Abonnement-Daten mithilfe des Remote-Speichers“ nicht auswählen, können Kunden und Reseller Backups im Cloudspeicher nicht speichern, auch wenn die entsprechenden Berechtigungen ausgewählt wurden.

Backup Rotation

To save disk space, you can set up a server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups in Tools & Settings > Backup Manager (under „Tools & Resources“) > Settings. When the limit is reached, Plesk irrevocably deletes the oldest backup files to free up space for new ones. We call this process backup rotation.

Bemerkung: The limit only affects full backups. The number of incremental backups is not limited.

Bemerkung: The limit affects the Plesk server local storage and any configured remote storage.

image 78606

Backup rotation differentiates between manual and scheduled backups. If you have both manual and scheduled full backups whose number exceeds the limit, backup rotation deletes the oldest full backups in the following way:

  1. Keeps the latest manual backup.
  2. Keeps X-1 number of the latest scheduled backups, where X is the server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups.
  3. Deletes all other full backups.

For example, you have three manual backups and three scheduled backups. You set the server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups to three. After backup rotation, Plesk will keep the following full backups: the latest manual backup and the two latest scheduled ones.

Subscriptions, customers, and resellers have their own limits on the number of stored full backups in „Scheduled Backup Settings“. Setting up the server-wide limit changes the corresponding limits for new and existing subscriptions, customers, and resellers to match the server-wide limit value. It will be impossible to set the limits for subscriptions, customers, and resellers higher than the server-wide limit (see the screenshot below).

image 78607

For example, a reseller has „Maximum number of full backup files to store“ set to four. After you set the server-wide limit to two, the reseller’s limit will be automatically set to two to match the server-wide limit. The reseller will not be able to change their limit to the value higher than two.