If you serve numerous websites, you may want to configure the backup process so that it does not consume much server resources.

To configure server-wide backup settings:

  1. Go to Tools & Settings > Backup Manager (under 「Tools & Resources」) > Settings.

  2. (Optional) In the corresponding field, specify the maximum number of full backups files (including both scheduled and manual backups) that can be stored in any type of storage.

    For details, see 「Backup Rotation」.

  3. In the corresponding field, specify the maximum number of simultaneously running scheduled backup processes. The default value is 10.

  4. To make the backup processes release resources to other server processes, 「Run all backup processes with low priority」 is selected by default.

    You can choose to run only scheduled backups with low priority by selecting the corresponding checkbox.

    備註: Both options increase backup time. Other server tasks will not work slower during backing up.

  5. To disable compression, select the 「Do not compress backup files」 checkbox.

  6. To prevent backing up processes from consuming all available disk space on the server, 「Start the backup only if your server has the sufficient amount of free disk space」 is selected by default.

    This option significantly increases backup time because Plesk additionally calculates the size of the future backup.

    If you know the approximate size of the future backup and do not want Plesk to waste time and resources on calculating it, clear the 「Start the backup only if your server has the sufficient amount of free disk space」 checkbox. Instead, in 「Start the backup only if your server has the specified amount of free disk space」, specify the approximate size of the future backup in megabytes.

    備註: Plesk for Windows 不會直接計算對象大小但是會從資料庫提取。因為 Plesk 資料庫的對象大小一天只能被更新一次,計算的整體備份大小會因其真實值而不同。

  7. Select whether to allow setting up FTP backup storage on the local Plesk server.

    Users can configure their FTP storage to be located on the same Plesk server where their subscriptions are hosted. If they do so, the amount of used disk space will double upon creation of each backup. This can cause the server to eventually run out of free disk space. To prevent this, we recommend that you do not select the 「Allow setting up FTP backup storage on the local server」 checkbox.

  8. Choose whether to save backups in the server storage if the upload to remote storage fails by selecting the corresponding checkbox.

    備註: Backing up to the Plesk server storage is possible only for users with the 「Backup and restoration of subscription data using the server storage」 or 「Backup and restoration of account data using the server storage」 permissions.

  9. 點按 確定

備份安全設定

您可以為在伺服器(本地)repository 中存儲的所有 Plesk 備份選擇保護類型:

  • Plesk’s encryption key. By default, certain sensitive data in a backup (for example, passwords of Plesk accounts) are encrypted with an internal key. The key is unique to each Plesk installation. Encrypting backups with Plesk keys is convenient but has certain limitations. When users restore backups created in other Plesk installations, the data is restored, but the original user passwords are lost, and new passwords are generated instead. In this case, the users will receive password change notifications by email. If you are going to restore a backup on another Plesk installation and want to avoid changing user passwords, use the Specified password option.

    備註: The Plesk internal key encrypts only certain data in a backup but not the whole backup. If you store backups in remote cloud storage, you can enable backup encryption on the cloud storage side.

  • Specified password. You can specify a server-wide password to protect certain data in a backup. This type of protection is preferable and can be recommended in most cases. In particular, this may be useful in case of multiple Plesk installations, or if you store a backup on a mounted drive and use it for restoration if the drive with Plesk crashes. To restore all Plesk data including user passwords, you have to provide the same password that was specified for the backup.

以上描述的安全設定只與存儲在伺服器(本地) repository 中的備份有關。如果您要在 FTP 伺服器上存儲備份,請在 FTP 存儲設定中配置密碼保護。欲知詳情,請查看 配置遠端存放

備註: 訂閱使用者在下載備份時指定的密碼不要與伺服器範圍的密碼或加密金鑰相衝突。對於此類備份,會使用使用者指定的密碼。請查看 上傳和下載備份檔案

在雲存儲中為客戶和代理商存儲備份的許可權

預設安裝了`雲存儲擴展extension <https://www.plesk.com/extensions/category/clouds/>`__後,您的客戶和代理商還可以將其用於記憶體手動備份。若要管理客戶和代理商允許使用哪個雲存儲,請購買 Backup to Cloud Pro 功能。

一旦購買了此功能,則能夠在以下情況時於 「許可權」 標籤(在 「顯示更多可用許可權」)上允許或禁止客戶或代理商使用已安裝的雲存儲服務:

  • 添加新的或編輯現有的服務方案和附加方案。
  • 自訂訂閱。

image cloud permissions

當安裝相應的雲存儲擴展時,該許可權將出現並被選中。

同步之後,許可權中的更改將生效。

備註: 「使用遠端存放備份和恢復訂閱資料」許可權優先於在雲存儲中存儲備份的許可權。如果未選擇」使用遠端存放備份和恢復訂閱資料」,即使選擇了相應的雲許可權,客戶和代理商也無法在雲存儲中存儲備份。

Backup Rotation

To save disk space, you can set up a server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups in Tools & Settings > Backup Manager (under 「Tools & Resources」) > Settings. When the limit is reached, Plesk irrevocably deletes the oldest backup files to free up space for new ones. We call this process backup rotation.

備註: The limit only affects full backups. The number of incremental backups is not limited.

備註: The limit affects the Plesk server local storage and any configured remote storage.

image 78606

Backup rotation differentiates between manual and scheduled backups. If you have both manual and scheduled full backups whose number exceeds the limit, backup rotation deletes the oldest full backups in the following way:

  1. Keeps the latest manual backup.
  2. Keeps X-1 number of the latest scheduled backups, where X is the server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups.
  3. Deletes all other full backups.

For example, you have three manual backups and three scheduled backups. You set the server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups to three. After backup rotation, Plesk will keep the following full backups: the latest manual backup and the two latest scheduled ones.

Subscriptions, customers, and resellers have their own limits on the number of stored full backups in 「Scheduled Backup Settings」. Setting up the server-wide limit changes the corresponding limits for new and existing subscriptions, customers, and resellers to match the server-wide limit value. It will be impossible to set the limits for subscriptions, customers, and resellers higher than the server-wide limit (see the screenshot below).

image 78607

For example, a reseller has 「Maximum number of full backup files to store」 set to four. After you set the server-wide limit to two, the reseller’s limit will be automatically set to two to match the server-wide limit. The reseller will not be able to change their limit to the value higher than two.