If you serve numerous websites, you may want to configure the backup process so that it does not consume much server resources.

To configure server-wide backup settings:

  1. Go to Tools & Settings > Backup Manager (under « Tools & Resources ») > Settings.

  2. (Optional) In the corresponding field, specify the maximum number of full backups files (including both scheduled and manual backups) that can be stored in any type of storage.

    For details, see « Backup Rotation ».

  3. In the corresponding field, specify the maximum number of simultaneously running scheduled backup processes. The default value is 10.

  4. To make the backup processes release resources to other server processes, « Run all backup processes with low priority » is selected by default.

    You can choose to run only scheduled backups with low priority by selecting the corresponding checkbox.

    Note: Both options increase backup time. Other server tasks will not work slower during backing up.

  5. To disable compression, select the « Do not compress backup files » checkbox.

  6. To prevent backing up processes from consuming all available disk space on the server, « Start the backup only if your server has the sufficient amount of free disk space » is selected by default.

    This option significantly increases backup time because Plesk additionally calculates the size of the future backup.

    If you know the approximate size of the future backup and do not want Plesk to waste time and resources on calculating it, clear the « Start the backup only if your server has the sufficient amount of free disk space » checkbox. Instead, in « Start the backup only if your server has the specified amount of free disk space », specify the approximate size of the future backup in megabytes.

    Note: Plesk pour Windows ne calcule pas directement la taille des objets mais l’extrait de la base de données. Comme la taille des objets dans la base de données de Plesk est actualisée une fois par jour, la taille de la sauvegarde globale calculée peut différer de sa valeur réelle.

  7. Select whether to allow setting up FTP backup storage on the local Plesk server.

    Users can configure their FTP storage to be located on the same Plesk server where their subscriptions are hosted. If they do so, the amount of used disk space will double upon creation of each backup. This can cause the server to eventually run out of free disk space. To prevent this, we recommend that you do not select the « Allow setting up FTP backup storage on the local server » checkbox.

  8. Choose whether to save backups in the server storage if the upload to remote storage fails by selecting the corresponding checkbox.

    Note: Backing up to the Plesk server storage is possible only for users with the « Backup and restoration of subscription data using the server storage » or « Backup and restoration of account data using the server storage » permissions.

  9. Cliquez sur OK.

Paramètres de sécurité des sauvegardes

Vous pouvez sélectionner le type de protection pour toutes les sauvegardes de Plesk stockées dans le répertoire (local) serveur :

  • Clé de chiffrement de Plesk. Par défaut, certaines données sensibles dans une sauvegarde (par exemple, les mots de passe des comptes Plesk) sont chiffrés avec une clé interne. Cette clé est unique pour chaque installation de Plesk. Le chiffrement des sauvegardes à l’aide de clés Plesk est pratique, mais présente certaines limites. Lorsque les utilisateurs restaurent des sauvegardes créées sur d’autres installations de Plesk, les données sont restaurées, mais les mots de passe utilisateur d’origine sont perdus et de nouveaux sont générés. Dans ce cas, les utilisateurs reçoivent des notifications de modification de mot de passe par mail. Si vous allez restaurer une sauvegarde sur une autre installation de Plesk et souhaitez éviter de modifier les mots de passe utilisateur, utilisez l’option Mot de passe indiqué.

    Note: La clé interne de Plesk chiffre seulement certaines données dans une sauvegarde, mais pas l’intégralité de la sauvegarde. Si vous stockez des sauvegardes à l’aide du stockage cloud distant, vous pouvez activer le chiffrement de la sauvegarde du côté du stockage cloud.

  • Mot de passe indiqué. Vous pouvez définir un mot de passe pour l’ensemble du serveur afin de protéger certaines données dans les sauvegardes. Ce type de protection est préférable et peut être recommandé dans la plupart des cas. Il s’avère en particulier utile s’il y a plusieurs installations de Plesk ou si vous stockez une sauvegarde sur un disque monté et l’utilisez pour la restauration si le disque où est installé Plesk rencontre un problème. Pour restaurer toutes les données de Plesk, y compris les mots de passe utilisateur, vous devez indiquer le mot de passe indiqué dans la sauvegarde.

Les paramètres de sécurité décrits précédemment ne concernent que les sauvegardes stockées dans le répertoire du serveur (local) uniquement. Si vous stockez une sauvegarde sur un serveur FTP, configurez la protection par mot de passe dans les paramètres de stockage FTP. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la section Configurer le stockage distant.

Note: les mots de passe que les utilisateurs d’abonnements peuvent indiquer lors du téléchargement des sauvegardes n’entrent pas en conflit avec le mot de passe valable pour tout le serveur ni avec la clé de chiffrement. Pour ce type de sauvegarde, des mots de passe spécifiques à l’utilisateur sont utilisés. Consultez la section Envoyer et télécharger les fichiers de sauvegarde.

Autorisation de stocker les sauvegardes dans le Cloud Storage pour les clients et les revendeurs

Par défaut, lorsque vous installez une extension de stockage cloud, vos clients et vos revendeurs peuvent l’utiliser pour stocker leurs sauvegardes manuelles. Pour gérer le stockage cloud que vos clients et revendeurs sont autorisés à utiliser, achetez la fonction Backup to Cloud Pro (Sauvegarde dans le Cloud Pro).

Une fois que vous avez acheté la fonction, vous pouvez autoriser ou interdire l’utilisation des services de stockage dans le Cloud à vos clients et à vos revendeurs. Pour cela, allez dans l’onglet « Droits » (sous « Afficher plus de droits disponibles » quand vous :

  • Ajoutez de nouveaux packs de services et packs d’add-ons ou en éditez des existants.
  • Personnalisez des abonnements.

image cloud permissions

Le droit s’affiche et est sélectionné lorsque l’extension de stockage cloud est installée.

Les modifications dans les droits entrent en vigueur après la synchronisation.

Note: Le droit « Sauvegarde et restauration des abonnements à l’aide du stockage distant » est prioritaire sur les permissions de stockage de sauvegardes dans le stockage cloud. Si ce droit n’est pas sélectionné, les clients et les revendeurs ne peuvent pas stocker leurs sauvegardes dans le stockage cloud même si les droits du cloud correspondant sont sélectionnés.

Backup Rotation

To save disk space, you can set up a server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups in Tools & Settings > Backup Manager (under « Tools & Resources ») > Settings. When the limit is reached, Plesk irrevocably deletes the oldest backup files to free up space for new ones. We call this process backup rotation.

Note: The limit only affects full backups. The number of incremental backups is not limited.

Note: The limit affects the Plesk server local storage and any configured remote storage.

image 78606

Backup rotation differentiates between manual and scheduled backups. If you have both manual and scheduled full backups whose number exceeds the limit, backup rotation deletes the oldest full backups in the following way:

  1. Keeps the latest manual backup.
  2. Keeps X-1 number of the latest scheduled backups, where X is the server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups.
  3. Deletes all other full backups.

For example, you have three manual backups and three scheduled backups. You set the server-wide limit on the number of stored full backups to three. After backup rotation, Plesk will keep the following full backups: the latest manual backup and the two latest scheduled ones.

Subscriptions, customers, and resellers have their own limits on the number of stored full backups in « Scheduled Backup Settings ». Setting up the server-wide limit changes the corresponding limits for new and existing subscriptions, customers, and resellers to match the server-wide limit value. It will be impossible to set the limits for subscriptions, customers, and resellers higher than the server-wide limit (see the screenshot below).

image 78607

For example, a reseller has « Maximum number of full backup files to store » set to four. After you set the server-wide limit to two, the reseller’s limit will be automatically set to two to match the server-wide limit. The reseller will not be able to change their limit to the value higher than two.